Linfield’s Kirsty McGuinness receives NIFL Leading Goalscorer award again

Posted : 4th April 2019 at 16:29:46

Ahead of the new Danske Bank Women’s Premiership season, presentations have been made for last season’s stand out players.

Billie Simpson received her award for the Player of the Year after a stand-out season with the Reds who finished third in the Women’s Premiership last season.

Simpson is the first player from outside of Linfield to win the award, which has been voted for by representatives of the Premiership’s member clubs.

The Premiership’s leading goalscorer was also announced, as Linfield’s Kirsty McGuinness made it a hat-trick of awards since the inception of the awards for the NI Football League in 2016.

McGuinness found the back of the net a staggering 24 times in just 18 league games last season as the Blues were crowned as Danske Bank Women’s Premiership champions for a third year in succession, as well as claiming the League Cup in the first domestic televised women’s match in Northern Ireland last June.

Women’s Premiership Player of the Year

2016 – Kirsty McGuinness (Linfield)
2017 – Lauren Perry (Linfield)
2018 – Billie Simpson (Cliftonville)

Women’s Premiership Top Goalscorer

2016 - Kirsty McGuinness (Linfield)
2017 - Kirsty McGuinness (Linfield)
2018 - Kirsty McGuinness (Linfield)

Next Match
Qarabag FK
Europa league
Kick-off : 22nd August at 7:45pm
Venue : Windsor Park
Last Match
Irish Premier League
Match Report