Linfield FC Player of the Year 2021-22 award presentation

Posted : 16th May 2022 at 11:57:57

The final award to be presented at Saturday night’s Gala awards event at the Crowne plaza hotel was the player of the year award.

This award is decided by the votes of supporters and in a season when Chris Shields had already won the NI Football awards trophy and the Ulster footballer of the year award, it was no surprise that the clear winner in the poll for the Linfield FC player of the year award was also Chris Shields.

There are 2 trophies to be presented - the trophy which dates back to the first year the trophy was presented and which remains in the Windsor Park trophy cabinet. On this occasion the trophy was presented by Jamie Megarry of official Linfield media.

The other trophy is a keepsake trophy which is kindly provided and sponsored by Ronnie Morrison and on Saturday night, it was presented by Mervyn Bryson, the vice chairman of the LST.

Congratulations to Chris Shields, the latest winner of the player of the year award.

Previous winners of this highly prestigious award have been

2008/09 - Paul Munster

2009/10 - Jamie Mulgrew

2010/11 - Michael Gault

2011/12 - Albert Watson

2012/13 - Billy Joe Burns

2013/14 - Andrew Waterworth

2014/15 - Aaron Burns

2015/16 - Jimmy Callacher

2016/17 - Roy Carroll

2017/18 - Kirk Millar

2018/19 - Jimmy Callacher

2019/20 - Stephen Fallon

2020/21 - Shayne Lavery

And now added to that impressive list

2021/22 - Chris Shields

Next Match
FC Zürich
Europa League
Kick-off : 11th August @ 6pm
Venue : Stadion Letzigrund, Zurich
Last Match
Charity Shield Match Report