Shayne Lavery receives prestigious 1st Newtownabbey LSC player of the year award

Posted : 10th October 2021 at 11:05:21

Prior to yesterday’s home game against Carrick Rangers, officials of the 1st Newtownabbey LSC presented their 2020/21 player of the year trophy to former Linfield striker Shayne Lavery.

This prestigious award dates back to the early 1960s, with the legendary Seven Trophy winning hero Bobby Braithwaite the first recipient.

Shayne was in Belfast on a short break and was special guest at yesterday’s game. Injury sustained in last week’s Lancashire derby against Blackburn Rovers ruled him out of last night’s Northern Ireland game in Switzerland.

Shayne who has made an excellent start to his new career in Blackpool, received a warm welcome from the Linfield supporters in the North Stand, as he received the 1st Newtownabbey LSC trophies from club officials Brian Hamilton and Jim Doherty.

Next Match
Irish Premier League
Kick-off : 29th January @ 3pm
Venue : The Showgrounds
Last Match
Irish Premier League Match Report